174 Countries Vote Yes For A Ceasefire But 7 Still Say No, Who Are They & Why?

A resolution was moved in the United Nations on November 11 against Israeli occupation in Palestine and Syria has been favored by 145 countries among them Colombia, France, India, and Japan. 18 countries abstained, and only 7 countries voted against it, among them are Israel, the United States, and Canada The resolution was accepted two days after its draft was approved on November 9.

Titled “Israeli settlements in the Occupied Palestinian Territory, including East Jerusalem, and the occupied Syrian Golan” (document A/C.4/78/L.15). The resolution reads as follows:

“Condemning also all acts of violence, destruction, harassment, provocation and incitement by Israeli settlers in the Occupied Palestinian Territory, including East Jerusalem, against Palestinian civilians, including children, and their properties; including historic and religious sites, and agricultural lands, as well as acts of terror by several extremist Israeli settlers, and calling for accountability for the illegal actions perpetrated in this regard.”

Earlier in October, the United Nations General Assembly had adopted a resolution calling for an “immediate humanitarian truce” in Gaza. The United States and Israel among 12 other countries voted against it, while Canada abstained.

WE SAID THIS: Don’t Miss…Non-Arab Countries Condemning the Bombing of Gaza

Originally posted 2023-11-14 17:02:07.